Blaming Microsoft

Taking a break from v2, I looked at the Microsoft Mojave experiment. I hadnt seen the the thing yet, I was interested because when reading Channel9 I came across Joe Wilcox’s article on Microsoft Watch. So lets go ahead and comment on that first. I think his article is not one of his best pieces. Mojave is an attempt by Microsoft to curb the negative publicity that Apple and others have been spreading about Vista. Does Vista have its problems?  Of course, but I agree with MS when they say perception is number 1. All too many times I come across a XP user who thinks Vista sucks, and 9 out of 10 times the answer starts with “I was told” and the other 1 percent is “well I read.” The few people I have run into that hate Vista and have had problems with it stem from either hardware support, 3rd party drivers or the software delivery, they performed an upgrade rather than a full install. I think Microsoft made a big mistake creating an upgrade version. Vista is too different and no matter how you slice it during upgrades some remnants of the old system are present and those remnant cause problems. Did Apple provide an upgrade disk from Mac OS 9 to OS X? No, anybody who has ever upgraded one major release of Ubuntu to the other have always had problems. To coin a popular internet troll from Channel 9, for best results perform a full install. Of course problems aside you will always have those that just hate Vista and Microsoft can only just take in the feedback, like I do with PC/OS and keep moving. Microsoft has fixed a bunch of problems with SP1 and I know this from a friend of mine who had Vista on a 5 or 6 year old PC. The RTM was slow and got faster when I installed SP1. Vista will always have its problems, its software you break it, they fix it and thats the natural order of things. this happens whether you run Linux, Windows or Mac OS X. Developers are smart but they cant see into the future and say Robert X will have a problem with Feature X lets fix it. As Devs we do the best we can and thats all we can do, we’re human. As for his argument that the Mojave experiment puts down people and embarrasses them, I disagree. Its no more embarrassing than Apple basically telling PC users that they are stupid for using a PC instead of a Mac which their ads often do. Apples just creative with the way they do it. Was the Coke vs Pepsi experiment embarrassing to soda drinkers years ago? What about Fords experiment where they swap your ride for a month, do you think thats embarassing to automobile drivers? And what about the Hardees, 5 star restaurant but we will feed you a Hardees Thickburger to see if you can tell the difference, is that embarrassing to hamburger eaters? I dont think so. but Mojave is a bad experiment, Why? because it comes from Microsoft.  I will ssay this, I hope Wilcox enjoys the free iPhone and Macbook Air that Apple gave him to print his retraction, because his whole Mojave sucks article stinks of “I got paid”

The next article is Bruce Perens argument regarding Microsofts recent investment in Apache. To break it down Bruce feels that Microsoft will hijack Apache, steal Apache code , incorporate it into IIS and kill of Linux. First off, I know this blog entry is reading like Im Microsofts best friend. I’m not, trust me, I have more people at Microsoft who hate my guts more than any that like me. Read Channel 9, those guys think Im just a drunken, insane, gun weilding, womanizing reproduction beast with no soul. To which I plead no contest to some but not all of those charges. But anywho, I digress, I think of myself more as a realist than an enthusiast.

I personally think that Bruce is wrong. Microsoft could have taken Apaches code, its permissible under their license, and incorporate it into IIS without a $100,000 dollar investment. Microsoft could hire Apache developers away and not make a $100,000.00 investment. Bruces entire article stinks of tin foil conspiracy theories. Microsoft, I think really does want Linux and Open Source to survive. It leads to a competitive market and most companies do better when they have competition just like I dont want Linux and open source to kill off Microsoft.  What would the point be if Linux killed Microsoft, once again we are stuck with just one.  If Microsoft didnt have Linux it would be the US vs Microsoft part Deux. Linux right now is “good enough” to replace Windows on most desktops, but what could be done to make the Linux experience much better. The open source and Linux communities need to be looking at not what Microsoft does or what Microsoft is doing wrong, but rather what the Linux and Open Source communities could be doing right. Not to mention there is one entity that Bruce and the rest of the open source community is forgetting, someone who is more of an asshole than Bill Gates and who is just as, if not more ruthless, thats Steve Jobs and Apple computer.

Leave a Reply

