PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008, OpenWorkstation 2008: Lite and Open Server System 2008 available for download

The PC/OS series is available for download this includes:

PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008

PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008: Lite

PC/OS Open Server System 2008

After two weeks of ‘for sale only’ the time has come for the downloads to begin of PC/OS.  How successful was the sale.  The project raised, minus paypal fees, $345.00 and quite a few On-Disk sales.  The demand was such I actually had to have 2 friends of mine answer the e-mails to process orders while I was working.  The sale bought a year of hosting and a new build machine.  Thank you so much for your support.

So whats new with PC/OS.  We build upon the Ubuntu Hardy Heron series.  there are a few changes from a stock Ubuntu install.

For starters the kernel update to 2.6.24-17 is included.  The Gstreamer codecs, Sun Java plugin, Flash are all included.

Multimedia wise we have the creation tools, VLC, Totem and Rhythmbox

For developers I included RealBASIC Standard Edition, OpenLDEV and Glade Interface Designer.  QT Designer was not included due to user feedback and I put in the more popular choices among my users.

The most notable in the networking section is Firefox 2 instead of Firefox 3 beta, Liferea feedreader and Skype replaces Ekiga. gufw, a graphical frontend to ufw is included.

For system admins, I included the Network Tools, Zenmap a graphical frontend to nmap as well as a graphical scheduler frontend to CRON, Likewise open is included as is Envy NG for video card driver installation.  An NTFS configuration tool is also included.

Productivity wise, OpenOffice.org 2.4 is included as is Sunbird 0.8.  Scribus was also brought up to date and Xsane for scanning documents and such is included.

In Open Server System 2008 the following changes are included.

Likewise Open, gufw and the new version of Webmin is also included.  Install scripts now live in the home directory for installation of MySQL Server, Postfix, Sun Java JDK and Ruby On Rails.  These options are left to the install scripts so admins can install what they want, MySQL was left out of the default install due to the fact some users use commercial databases and not MySQL so the option to install is still there.  There is also an Expansion pack downloadable from the site that includes all the tools from the Install Scripts.

The download options available are as follows:

The ISO’s  from the download site

The torrents are available as well.

Distromania hasnt updated their database yet so Ibiblio is housing the ISO’s if you experience slow downloads use the torrents.  There is also a update package for users of PC/OS 8.04  RC1 who dont want to hose their systems, it will be available by noon Monday if not sooner.

Once again I would like to thank all my beta testers, users and the community for making this release a success.

5 Responses to PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008, OpenWorkstation 2008: Lite and Open Server System 2008 available for download

  1. Lithium17 says:

    Hi,

    I’ve just read the short review of PC/PS 2008 8.04 at Distrowatch and was quite impressed. I’m a Linux newbie….Ubuntu 8.04LTS was my first ever distro (though I’ve tried BSD in the past).

    Some questions:
    1. Since it’s based on Ubuntu Hardy, all terminal commands (sudo, apt-get, aptitude, gedit, pppoeconf, ufw ….etc) should be the same, right?
    2. Does PC/OS share the same repository and servers as Ubuntu? This is important as I live in a 3rd (maybe 2nd) world country with fluctuating internet speeds and having the option to choose the ‘fastest server’ each night is helpful.
    3. Being XFCE based, I expect PC/OS to be lighter compared to the GNOME based Ubuntu. Could you give some estimates on it’s footprint and how fast it boots up? Sleep and Hibernate problems?
    4. Nice of you to include the updated kernel. Any stability issues?
    5. My laptop is 100% compatible with Ubuntu 8.04. Can I expect the same with PC/OS 2008.
    6. It’s nice of you to include Flash, Java and multimedia codecs. What codecs were included? What about Compiz?
    7. Did you include MPlayer?
    8. Your downloads section is pretty extensive. Which one do I, a noob/home/multimedia user download? Is it the ‘pc-os2008dvd.iso’? Do I need the rest like the ‘PC-OS-Media-Center.iso’ or the ‘pc-os2008expack.iso’?

    Thanks. If it’s really as good as Distrowatch says, then I’m sure you have a winner on your hands. Best of luck.

    Cheers!

    P.S…. did you seriously include a pink wallpaper?…. not sure about that one.

  2. pcos08 says:

    ” 1. Since it’s based on Ubuntu Hardy, all terminal commands (sudo, apt-get, aptitude, gedit, pppoeconf, ufw ….etc) should be the same, right?”

    Everything works as it does in Ubuntu, Mousepad replaces gEdit

    ” 2. Does PC/OS share the same repository and servers as Ubuntu? This is important as I live in a 3rd (maybe 2nd) world country with fluctuating internet speeds and having the option to choose the ‘fastest server’ each night is helpful.”

    Yes, PC/OS shares the exact same repositories and servers as Ubuntu. All packages built for Ubuntu are 100% compaitible with PC/OS.

    ” 4. Nice of you to include the updated kernel. Any stability issues?”

    No stability issues yet, The 2.6.24-18 series has some backwards issues that I am addressing at the time but that will be released with the Maintenance Pack 1 in July

    ” 5. My laptop is 100% compatible with Ubuntu 8.04. Can I expect the same with PC/OS 2008.”

    Yes you can expect the same compatibility that you get with Ubuntu 8.04

    ” 6. It’s nice of you to include Flash, Java and multimedia codecs. What codecs were included? What about Compiz?”

    Compiz is not included. I didnt put in Compiz for two reasons, first the distro is to work great on older hardware and XFCE has its own compositing engine. WMV, MP3, Quictime and Realplayer files are all supported.

    ” 7. Did you include MPlayer?”

    Yes I did

    ” 8. Your downloads section is pretty extensive. Which one do I, a noob/home/multimedia user download? Is it the ‘pc-os2008dvd.iso’? Do I need the rest like the ‘PC-OS-Media-Center.iso’ or the ‘pc-os2008expack.iso’?”

    pc-os2008dvd.iso or if you have just a cd drive pc-os2008cd.iso

    ” P.S…. did you seriously include a pink wallpaper?…. not sure about that one.”

    Not a wallpaper, juts the Window Decoration. And yes a Metallic pink is included. One of my female users, I had added Metallic and Mint and she wrote me and said “What about Pink, Im a girl and I like pink” so due to user feedback she got pink and believe it or not, its been a highly successful color, go figure.

  3. Lithium17 says:

    Thanks for the reply, bro.

    No response for no.3??

    Anyway, I’ll download it now. I’m sure I’ll like it.

    Finances are tight at the moment (fuel prices spiked 40% here recently), but I’ll try my best to donate in future…. No promises, though, I’m pretty poor to begin with…Heh!

    Checked out your forum. A small suggestion:-
    Some of the threads have a ‘(Resolved)’ on them, but sometimes I only see the initial post and no responses, so I gather the answer to the problems were given via e-mail. If true, it would be helpful to include excerpts from the e-mail conversations in the threads.

    Once again, great job. Wish you the best of luck with your project.

    Cheers!

    ….Sorry about the Pink comment. I misread the review a bit and didn’t realize it was window decoration. Guess that ain’t too bad. I thought I’d be blinded by a bright pink wallpaper or maybe it contained a subliminal message to turn me into a metro-sexual fashion victim.

  4. […] PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008, OpenWorkstation 2008: Lite and Open Server System 2008 available for do… The PC/OS series is available for download this includes: PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008 PC/OS OpenWorkstation 2008: […] […]

  5. pcos08 says:

    Sorry I skipped no 3, I was rushed and copy and pasted skipped one. Anywho, I havent done any kind of benchmark on bootup since XFCE and GNOME are loaded after the usplash loads. Hibernate and Suspend work, the only issue I have with my laptop is that I have to manually hit the suspend or hibernate from the logout, closing the lid doesnt do it on my Thinkpad. Im getting ready to load PC/OS on a Dell Inspiron so maybe that will answer the question.

Leave a Reply

